Man on the moon

My reminder place

Good Rail framework-like in PHP ?

with 5 comments

There have been a lot of buzz around Ruby on Rail these days. But with a Php background I rather not to switch to Ruby but find a framework that have the same philosophy as Rail has. It seems that I’ve found one. Symfony framework looks good and the documentation is excellent. Here is what it claims to do :

Based on the best practices of web development, thoroughly tried on several active websites, symfony aims to speed up the creation and maintenance of web applications, and to replace the repetitive coding tasks by power, control and pleasure.

Symfony provides a lot of features seamlessly integrated together, such as:

  • simple templating and helpers
  • cache management
  • smart URLs
  • scaffolding
  • multilinguism and I18N support
  • object model and MVC separation
  • Ajax support
  • enterprise ready

The best of all is that it come with a 24 days tutorials to build a real world application Askeet. I will blog more on this framework later after testing it more thorougthly. Until then why don’t try it yourself.

Written by dinh

January 18, 2006 at 10:27 am

Posted in Framework, PHP, Symfony

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you heard about CakePHP? It seems to be closer RoR than Symfony.

    cakephp.org

    pcdinh

    January 18, 2006 at 1:02 pm

  2. pcdinh

    I have reviewed CakePHP and gave up because its lacks of documentation that Symfony has.
    What I like about Syfony is :

    1. It looks professional
    2. It’s base on some of the best php tools availlable such as Propel, Creol, phing …
    3. It has impressive tutorials and demos
    4. So far as I can see, it does what it says

      dinh

      January 18, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    1. At work here we’re redesigning a new intranet system from teh ground up. It’s currently in FileMaker (think Microsoft Access for the mac) and we’re moving to a mysql/php solution. At big as this is going to be a framework seemed like a good decision. I looked at cakephp and it was too rigid for us. You HAD to do things there way and not allowed to deviate from it. Symfony, although admittedly more complicated than cakephp, it’s also more powerful. Ever since using it I’ve really begun to like the MVC programming model. I worked on this for propbably two solid weeks at like 6 or 7 hours a day and I’m still learning new things. It’s that initial learning curve that once you overcome, like where certain parts of your code should go, it’s really nice. I like how you can get a very basic site, that works, within mins using the generate-crud funcitons. Only real gripe I’ve had with it so far is the auto generation of the sql file isn’t the best. But it does a good enough job you can go back in modify things as needed. I’d definately recommend using subversion as well. I’ve used it before for personal scripts and stuff but now that I have to use it at work (there’s going to be 3 people concurrently working on this as any given point) I’ve really been enjoying that as well.

      FWIW, the reason I got to this site was searching for “symfony reference card” (found the reference cards post later on and then this symfony post). there’s one availiable for the admin-crud generator but not just a general one since I’ve found that’s what a lot of those first couple weeks were spent doing; just looking through the documentation to see how to access a certain variable or some other data.

      I’d also recommend joinging the forums on there, if you haven’t already. There’s a pretty large user base that will offer support when they can.

      Todd

      August 31, 2006 at 2:42 pm

    2. I’ve been reading through the book and askeet tutorial in the last few days and so far I the framework looks decent. I like rails a lot better in some aspects though, especially testing.

      Testing is ‘builted’ into symfony but it requires you to install the simpleTest package separately. There needs to be a lot of more work done on the testing part of the framework.

      Overall, it’s a good framework.

      tung

      January 15, 2007 at 4:15 am

    3. I have a exp in CakePHP and Symfony , but Cakephp is more easy over Symfony but Symfony is more powerful than Cakephp , I have taken a one week workshop by Symfony Developer.

      Jagat

      January 11, 2008 at 12:09 pm


    Leave a Reply

